Hearings over delimitation of constituencies continue

BSS – The hearings on appeals over delimitation of different parliamentary seats continued for the second day yesterday at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city’s Agargaon.

Concerned petitioners of at least 13 parliamentary seats of nine districts under Khulna division took part in the hearings.

Besides hearings on Jessore-4, Magura-1 and 2, Narail-1 and 2, Khulna-4, Satkhira-3 and 4, Sylhet-2 and 3, Moulavibazar-2 and 4 and Jamalpur-4 parliamentary seats were held yesterday.

Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda, Election Commissioners Mahbub Talukder, Md Rafiqul Islam, Begum Kabita Khanam and Brigadier General (retd) Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury were present in the hearings.

On March 14, The Election Commission announced the draft of new demarcation of 300 parliamentary seats with changes in 40 constituencies.

Earlier, 224 appeals were made in favour of EC’s draft demarcation while 407 against it. Hearings on those appeals began on Saturday.

Hearings on Chittagong division will be held tomorrow and Dhaka on April 25.

Final gazette is expected to be published on April 30 after completion of hearings.

শেয়ার করুন